Almost a year back

Last Christmas I gave you my heart.

And in the months that followed there was a lot more give and take.

You’re a fantastic person – just like everybody else.

But the thing about falling for you was that you weren’t really there

Pity it took me a year to see that. But I’m glad it was only a year, aren’t you?

I’ll miss a million things about you and I’ll probably romanticize a million more things about you. I might even cry a little and probably think of calling you once in a while.

But this time I’m going to let you go. Think of it as a Christmas present – to both of us.

Thanks for leaving me with better music taste and a lower threshold for bullshit.

I thought I’d always think of you as my ‘In-another-life-I-would-make-you-stay’. But you’re honestly not significant enough to pull into the coming year, forget another lifetime.

Goodbye and happy holidays!

May the odds be ever in your favor.

3 thoughts on “Almost a year back”

Leave a comment