Single on Dia de Amor y Amistad? Me too!

So in Colombia they celebrate not one but TWO days for publicly declaring your love for a significant other or friend in the year. Yesterday was the exclusively Colombian festival of Dia de Amor y Amistad. The predominantly red and pink heart-shaped decorations along the mall, streets and town center really did nothing to help. Well, apart from the fact that I am like 33% bitter on even a good day, I was actively hating on the celebration because I am single.

Now before you go all ‘Oh man! Not a fat girl rant of this thing again!’ on me, let me tell you why its not all bad.

While I have never had a single Valentine in my entire life, this one stings harder because compared to the rest of my life, this one segment of my life is still down in the dumps. However, right now I am finally living my dream. I mean of course its not a perfect life, but it sure as hell is the happiest I’ve ever been. Even though I have to spend a major part of my weekend doing laundry, dishes and cleaning – I figured out how to practice adult living. And I’m pretty darn good at it.

So yes, maybe it will be a few more years before I can have the pleasure of a companion to declare my cheesy love and devotion to on a cliched holiday. Maybe there may not even be such a shared future. Sure, it seems tragic and raw. But that’s basically life. I shan’t let the mere distraction of a failed attempt at companionship pull me away from my indulgent reverence of the fact that we exist in such perfect and poetic conditions.

I may seem rather odd for having made a ritual out of separating whites from colors before doing laundry into a fun activity. I love the way I have so many friends here who care about my well-being genuinely. I adore the way my regular salad lady sometimes throws in a free avocado when she’s having a particularly brisk business day. I am always bewildered to see the same faces smiling warmly back at me when I’m walking down Street Six and Vente De Julio Park after buying fruit yogurt wholesale.

So all in all, life’s pretty good.

I may not have an amor on Dia de Amor y Amistad.

Luckily, you don’t need one to live a kick-ass life. Wander, explore, wonder and re-discover. You deserve it.

 

2 thoughts on “Single on Dia de Amor y Amistad? Me too!”

  1. It seems to me that you so have an amor on Dia de Amor y Amistad.

    (No, I don’t mean the avocado lady)

    You seem to be so very in love with yourself. It’s beautiful. The way you have the guts to do your thing. It’s beautiful.

Leave a comment