Until next time

I watched a movie in a movie theater by myself today. That is not really a big deal, I’ve done that once before. The big deal is that this movie was one that my best friends and I were going to watch together. That was before I had a fight with them and decided to take a break from everyone and sort the mess in my head out with Version 2.0.

On the mess front, I’m progressing splendidly. On the friend front, I really do not know how its going. I miss them so much and all I want to do is hug them and get back to the non-stop talking and sharing from a month ago. But if I do that I’ll get back to what I was before and I honestly think I’ve got to do a little more with myself before I’m ready to be part of each other’s life again. The second part is that I’m unsure if they will even understand my need of the hiatus – I wasn’t particularly informative or gradual in my explanation. But that is something I know we will work through once the time arrives.

What I’m left wondering right now is – how close is too close? How much  sharing, emotional dependency and need for communication makes the whole relationship too much? And is it absolutely ethical to take a break if you are overwhelmed? I understand that in the case of relationship that are romantic, you can do that. But what about platonic relationships? Why do we not have an accepted code of conduct for interactions between non-romantic relationships?

All in all, I hope we are all fully equipped to deal with what we feel and experience in all our bonds, not just romantic ones. Because they both hurt and leave us feeling not-too-great periodically. I hope we all find a way to make sense of things and move ahead to better things.

Leave a comment